Examiner.com is gone!

Apparently, Examiner.com, the site that was holding on to my book and movie reviews for years was bought by another company in 2014. However, links to my reviews still worked, which was how I was deceived.  In mid-July 2016, without my knowledge, the Examiner shut down completely and with it, all my work and webpages were deleted.  I am really disturbed by the fact that there is now no proof that I ever published anything for them. They may have gotten their comeuppance ā€” I hope some extorted writer like myself sued their asses off and won ā€” but my work is 100% gone.  I saved my book reviews before to my book review blog, “Around the Bend of the Book,” but links to the originals don’t work. My movie reviews, on the other hand, are completely gone.  Damn you, Examiner ā€” as a former contributor, I should have been contacted about the decision to erase my publications!

5 thoughts on “Examiner.com is gone!

  1. The Russian dude from the past February 23, 2017 / 10:29

    You’ve put so many efforts and time into Examiner! How could they do that to you? That’s a perfect example of ignorance. You haven’t been too happy with them. Now, this is one more reason to despise them. The loss is irretrievable. It’s even humiliating! I hope you’ll find strength to overcome this one. You always do.

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna February 23, 2017 / 10:33

      They are the same big assholes, pardon my language, that they’ve always been. I hope their fraud and cheating came around to bite their behinds.

      Thank you for your support and faith in me! I have printed copies of all my work, but no online copies except my book blog. That’s the sting, that I have no online proof of my time with them.

      Like

      • Slava February 23, 2017 / 10:40

        Yes, I understand your feeling and your need of such a proof. You’ll need it for other companies that you apply to work for. That’s your professional records of what you’ve been working on so many years. Is it possible to contact them anyhow and ask for a proof letter of some kind?

        Like

        • Natalie Gorna February 23, 2017 / 10:43

          Nope, the Examiner is completely gone. And with it, all my work. I will email the new company and see if they have any backup of my reviews, but I doubt it. That was considered old content and they “warned contributors” to backup their work. Didn’t tell me, though. *grumbles*

          Like

          • Slava February 23, 2017 / 10:50

            At least you still got the hard copies of all your works. I’m glad you managed to save them. That would be heartbreaking to lose them.

            Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

