Are you an Imaginator?

So…it’s been more than a month since I posted here last.  And it wasn’t even a personal post — a book review, no less.  Well, I’m back.  Back in the spotlight.

First off, I’ve been reading more recently.  And I mean actual books, not just fanfiction.  My conclusion: young adult literature is a doomed genre.  I’ve been perusing bookshelves, searching for novels of substance.  Even the usual modern authors I follow have been a disappointment this year.  For example, one of my favs, Susane Colasanti, just released “All I Need.”  I must say, this work is the most mediocre of everything she’s written so far.  Last year, it was “Keep Holding On,” which I loved because she built up Noelle so candidly with the story of her trauma and abuse.  “All I Need” was superficial and fixed on only one thing: teen relationships.  True, Colasanti has focused on mainly that throughout her writing, but she always used romance as a side enhancement, not the “main attraction.”  “All I Need” has nothing else but that, and as a result, it is superficial and bland.  I’ll give it one star, when and if I’m finished reading it.

However, one of my top finds is the impenetrable Rick Yancey, whose bold humor in the face of adversity and post-apocalyptic hell is downright ingenious.  “The 5th Wave” is without a doubt my favorite book of 2013, and let me tell you why.  I don’t normally read science fiction, let alone alien-themed science fiction.  But this time I made exception.  And guess what?  His portrayal of extraterrestrials is…superlative.  I didn’t buy the romance between the main character and the alien in the middle because it felt forced à la Meyer’s “The Host,” but I bought his action scenes, his use of emotion and feeling to make my adrenaline go crazy.

Otherwise, the more paranormal crap I see on shelves, the more I want to write the books I want to read (thank you, Carol Shields, for that spell-binding quote).  What the heck is happening to publishers these days?  They seem to be more demanding, less eager to try out new writers, but then they go ahead and publish whatever young adult lit comes their way.  Style over substance.  There are so many clique, sex-ridden types claiming to be books, when they’re empty and a waste of paper.  But hey, please the masses.  Life goes on, because we have something called diversity.  Oh well.  Enough of the rant.

Secondly, the TV show “Once Upon a Time” is now my favorite show, because “Merlin” is officially over after 5 seasons.  And I’m so glad it will be back in the autumn for season 3.  There’s more to my “Oncer addiction” than those 2 sentences, but I’ll leave it at that.

Thirdly, I was talking with a friend and I figured out that I’m an Imaginator.  And though I mistakenly thought “imaginator” was a word of my own creation, it actually exists in the dictionary.  Hah.  I dare to write, because (I think I talked about this metaphor before) I’m building that door.  I’m writing, because there are storyworlds I need to explore.  And I believe in this firmly, this passion for writing, if nothing else.  It gives me the will to go on.

My dear blog, you’ve reached nearly 20,000 views in total since your birth in 2009.  Hello again.

Natalie Gorna

4 thoughts on “Are you an Imaginator?

  1. phpfox.oaks.pro June 13, 2013 / 01:05

    It’s going to be end of mine day, except before ending I am reading this impressive post to improve my know-how.

    Like

  2. home security phoenix June 12, 2013 / 18:39

    Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss
    and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely
    interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

    Like

  3. Lavonne K. Witt June 5, 2013 / 22:48

    Yeah. I haven’t read anything. Not one thing. Been almost three weeks now since I finished The 5th Wave. It’s not that I don’t want to read. Because I do. I really, truly do. I have a bunch of amazing books that I cannot wait to read. I need to start These Broken Stars. But oh. I haven’t had the time to yet. It’s because of the moving upstairs, cause I have a lot of things that needed unpacking and sorting and just everything. And it’s a lot with the kitty too. But I’m getting there. Not too much left now, I hope. Hoping to read tomorrow 🙂 Anyway. I did get some awesome things this week 😀 What did you get this week?

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna June 7, 2013 / 12:08

      Hello, and thanks for replying! Haven’t gotten anything this week…for several years now, I haven’t acquired any new material goods. I mean, not things to keep, anyway.

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

