The pursuit of happiness

I walked into the dollar store and browsed the shelves.  So many items for purchase, all at that enticing, deceptive price of “just $1!”  Parading through the aisles, I came across the cosmetics section, where cheap perfume is sold in flimsy cardboard boxes.  Top perfume companies come up with the silliest names for their products, but it seems tacky, lower-class perfume companies are no different in their methods.  Sample perfumes stolidly sat in waiting by packaged perfume, just begging to be squirted on passersby.  As my mom came up beside me, I was spraying myself frantically with a bottle of “Extreme Happiness,” the volatile scent soaking through my hair and clothes.  I stopped short, and we both looked at the label.  Laughter echoed throughout the aisle.

It was rather pathetic, me trying so desperately to absorb extreme happiness through a perfume.  If only it were so easy to attain happiness…  Books always tell us that friendship, love, and happiness cannot be bought in any shop.  The creative departments of sales companies seem to be aiming at disproving that with their laughable stupidity.

A final thought: In a powerful, deeply touching film called “The Pursuit of Happyness,” the main character comments on how a person may only be able to pursue happiness, but never have it.  I’ve often thought of that, nowadays more than ever.  Can we ever reach a state of complete happiness, or is this some optimistic, unrealistic goal we need to hope for and live for?  I know you know the answer, but I still need to ask the question.

Natalie Gorna

2 thoughts on “The pursuit of happiness

  1. Vitaly Izmailova October 19, 2012 / 10:17

    I always appreciate a great article or piece of writing. Thanks for the contribution.

    Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

