Brooding on Frankenstein

It’s been almost a month since I last posted here.  During that time, things have obviously happened.  No, nothing big — no major changes in my life, which is sad.  But I’ve read new things, seen new things, and heard new things, which changes a person minimally, but the difference is still there.

I’ve been fiddling around with Goodreads and my reading list, both of which are expanding nicely.  Meaning I definitely will read circa 25 books for 2012, some of which I didn’t expect to pick up.  One of them was Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.  It’s always been on my to-read list, but I never considered going through it until…one of my favorite authors, Rebecca Cantrell (a.k.a. Bekka Black), asked me about reviewing iFrankenstein, her upcoming novel.  I felt very flattered that not only did she want me to read her book and asked me personally if I’d like to review it, but she also made me the first reviewer in the WORLD to read through an e-book ARC of iFrankenstein.  Obviously, I just had to dive into the original afterwards, because…iFrankenstein was so amazing that I read through 200 pages in one sitting (my review will be posted here promptly on the novel’s release date!).

The moment I opened Frankenstein, I knew I’d found another writer to admire.  Mary Shelley’s language and the formulation of her thoughts in print are mind-blowing.  I mean, this lady had no formal education and no actual experience as a writer, but she wrote her novel like a professor with doctorates in several subjects.

As Shelley pointed out, although humans still dream of scientifically finding out what is the very essence of life and the process of creation (they’ve already tried cloning), humanity could never handle the responsibility of creation.  Look at Dr. Frankenstein (though he’s never referred to in the novel as a “doctor” — did he even graduate from university?): he is driven by his desire to uncover scientific secrets and the mysteries of the universe, but when he arrives at the answers, he’s ultimately horrified by where his discoveries have taken him.  To my horror, he abandons his helpless creation, the “monster” Frankenstein, and runs away from his responsibility to guide his unwanted “child.”  And he doesn’t feel guilty about this at all.  The only thing he feels guilty about is creating the monster in the first place.

As for Frankenstein the monster, he is NOT a monster.  Like his creator, he is driven to certain actions, although murder was too extreme to be credible, in my opinion.  He was disregarded by the very being who made him and brought him to life, not to mention rebuked and scorned by every living person he meets.  It’s very brutal, the way everyone judges Frankenstein based on his looks before he even says one word to them.  As Alex Flinn mentioned in Bewitching, somehow people automatically associate ugliness with evil and beauty with good…and they take this assertion for granted.  Plato would say this is a logical deduction, but…human nature makes everything on earth more complicated.  Especially when you’re distinguishing between the surface and what lies beneath.  The essence of a person, that is to say.  Frankenstein was modeled in the shape of a human, and his soul was human too.  But his character was shaped by neglect and rejection.  Would a normal human have acted in a different way after such experiences as Frankenstein had?

Victor Frankenstein…I can sympathize with what happens to him after his mistake, but he is so…whiny…spoiled…and he complains so much.  Also, I couldn’t understand how this scientist could not have noticed Frankenstein’s physical appearance when he was putting him together.  It’s just so incredible, that this highly intelligent student could have been so blind and so obtuse in regards to his occupation and his objective.  Which is why I’m sorry about how he loses all those whom he loves, but not his personal suffering.  Victor is a very selfish being.  And by ignoring the outcome of his experiment, the result of his studying, he causes pain and anguish for all those connected to him.  Did he not even consider the repercussions of trying to be God?

iFrankenstein is…a biting and eye-catching twist on the story.  Of course, it’s set in modern times.  But…well, let’s just say the novel reminded me of the film Eagle Eye.  No more details, though…I’m bound to silence.  But you’ll hear all about it very, very soon… 😉

Naturally, there’s always more to say, more to write…and believe me, once I finally break the chains of this writer’s block, I’ll be live here on my blog more often. 🙂

Natalie Gorna

2 thoughts on “Brooding on Frankenstein

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

