What writing means to me

  • I get to edit what I want to say as many times as I want before I actually release it to the public.
  • I can put thoughts and words together in different ways and never say the same thing twice.
  • Writing can unleash the best of me and the worst of me, but usually the best of me.
  • The written language allows for contemplation, eloquence, and stylish composition—when you talk, you can’t take back what you’ve already said.
  • How many times can you revise what you’ve written in the past?  Moreover, you can see what you were trying to say in a whole new light, without bias or dismay at correction.
  • Writing is the path to new worlds, new ideas, and a new eternity.  What you create can last forever.
  • I love books.  Reading was the start of my writing, because if I had not learned how to read I would not know how to write.  And, ultimately, reading and writing are so deeply intertwined that you can’t really separate them, except that one finishes what the other has started.
  • The ability to get away from random conversation and simply communicate efficiently and to the point.
  • The capacity to craft thoughts like a sculptor sculpts a statue, gradually and carefully.
  • The power of words, written words.  Silence is golden, which means that writing must be worth more than gold.
  • The benefits of written languages, which are more than I can type at the moment.

Writing has shaped my life, and it has given me more confidence than public speaking ever could.  After all, someone has to compose a speech for the orator to give.  I know that sometimes it’s “philos-aphilos” as far as my feelings are concerned, but I do appreciate writing and everything it’s done for me despite all the frustration and impatience I experience.  I also hope I will have the opportunity to do more for it than I’m doing now.

Natalie Gorna

3 thoughts on “What writing means to me

  1. te lui (@teluiomte) November 27, 2011 / 06:46

    “I get to edit what I want to say as many times as I want before I actually release it to the public.”

    – it’s indeed a blessing but it’s also a curse – I laboriously edit, polish and rearrange the text until I’m satisfied, then I hit the Send button and read again what I’ve just sent.
    I’m never happy with what I see – I suddenly spot typos, wrong/missing interpunction, repetition, logical and stylistical errors. Sometimes a brilliant idea appears how it should’ve been written in the first place, then I curse the written word and wish I could simply talk to someone instead – I’d still get the message across and no evidence of my language fallacies would remain 😛

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna November 28, 2011 / 09:08

      Of course it’s a mixed blessing. 😀 Conversation allows for careless mistakes to be easily forgotten, unless you’re talking to someone who will accurately remember what and how you speak. 😛 Nevertheless, writing is my true pathway to eloquence.

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

