I got sinusitis from a bottle

The culprit itself...

John Tesh is one of the people who inspire me.  He has a radio talk show where he shares advice that picks up on health, relationships, and news.  One of the things he taught me is to beware of public computer keyboards and the germs that inhabit them.  The next was that if you use the same plastic bottle to drink water from everyday (as if many people do), you should remember to wash it often.  Because if you don’t, bacteria will begin to grow on the parts of the bottle you handle often, like…the mouthpiece?  And the rim where you place your lips in order to take a sip?

I’ve memorized many of his tips, which are resourceful and handy.  But this time, I procrastinated and didn’t have an opportunity to wash my water bottle before the bacteria got seriously comfy on the bottle’s rim.  And…I first got strep throat, or something similar to that.  Scratchy sore throat, fever, weakness.  The next day (yesterday, in fact), I woke up…in pain.  I honestly thought that the amount of honey and tea I drank the previous day would help my poor throat recover from the shock of strep bacteria, a remedy which worked in the past.  But this time the sickness had spread too far.  My strep throat was gone, but I awoke to pounding, aching sinuses, a very runny nose that was trailing yellow phlegm, terrible aches in my joints, and sneezing, not to mention chills and the feeling that I felt feverish on the inside and very cold on the outside.

Most would immediately see a doctor.  I grabbed my Tylenol bottle and held on to the hope that the sight of mucus extricating itself from my body was a sign that my immune system was fighting hard for my recovery.  Today is better.  The only symptoms I’m left with are a very runny nose, sneezing, and fatigue.  I’m on the path of recovery…and it’s about time.  I’ve never had sinusitis appear and disappear in less than three days. but now I know.  I also have learned one more thing: from now on, I better wash my water bottle very, very often.  Or  write this necessity down as an event in my (non-existent) personal schedule.

Natalie Gorna

5 thoughts on “I got sinusitis from a bottle

  1. Slava October 4, 2011 / 08:21

    I hope you’ll get better as soon as you would like to, of course 🙂

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna October 4, 2011 / 16:46

      Thank you, Slava. 🙂 Being sick isn’t fun, for sure. It’s terrible.

      Like

  2. Slava October 4, 2011 / 08:19

    Thank you for sharing this advice. Never thought such things about bottles.

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna October 4, 2011 / 16:45

      You’re welcome. I, of course, have to thank John Tesh for sharing such advice in the first place. 🙂

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

