I’m in a reader’s block?!

I don’t know what’s wrong.  I try to open my books and read, but I can’t focus on the words.  Either I’m falling asleep as I turn the pages, or I can’t seem to make the author’s sentences sink into my mind.  I’m stuck on one novel for months, when I used to be able to read one novel in a matter of days or even hours.  This is just like my writer’s blocks, when I can’t put my ideas and thoughts into legible paragraphs composed with decent sentences and transcribe it all down on paper (or online).  On one hand, Goodreads is a mixed blessing, motivating me to read more and more.  On the other hand, I’m starting to see books as statistics, as numbers I can acquire on my page.  This is bad.  Now I understand why Goodreads is Facebook for book-lovers.  Only membership with this website makes an addiction to books begin to look more like an addiction to acquisition.  Virtual acquisition of numbers.  Or maybe there is something else underlying all this besides the influence of social networking sites.  Maybe I am itching to write something of my own instead of poring over someone else’s thoughts, someone else’s words and pictures.  Perhaps inner creativity is calling.  It’s a possibility…if I am truly a writer and this is my vocation, then it is going to draw me across a path of mental stones until I submit and express myself.  On paper.  Outside of influences or deadlines.  Or the Examiner.

Speaking of the Examiner, the review quota is now 255 book reviews and 136 movie reviews in total.  Two hundred fifty-five book reviews…even I am impressed.  😀  Oh well…I’ve read twenty-something novels so far in 2011, and I plan to read many more.  If only I could get myself out of this mental fog!  I need my imagination back.  I want to be able to focus on characters and stories again.  If you are interested in which novels are going to be added to my “to-review” list, I am currently reading…oh, just go look at my Goodreads page, will you? 😉

Natalie Gorna

6 thoughts on “I’m in a reader’s block?!

  1. Slava August 16, 2011 / 20:12

    Yeah, yeah, I know 😦 Hope for the best, prepare for the worst 😦

    Like

  2. Slava August 16, 2011 / 12:20

    Then maybe you need kind of vacation. Some period of lazy time? Anyway, I hope you’ll cope with it 🙂

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna August 16, 2011 / 14:40

      You forget that in my current financial situation, I cannot take any vacation. 😦 But thanks for the thought.

      Like

  3. Slava August 16, 2011 / 11:02

    “or I can’t seem to make the author’s sentences sink into my mind”.
    I had something like that once. When I came up to my teacher (who’s a doctor simultaneously) and asked what’s wrong with me, he asked how long I sleep. I said,”Well, yeah, less than 8 hours”. So he said I need to sleep longer. Not even sleep, he said people need to be just in a horizontal pose for 8 hours. So, Natalie, try to read a book lying or simply try to sleep longer 🙂

    255 books! I can’t even imagine this amount of books on a table 🙂

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna August 16, 2011 / 12:15

      Thanks, Slava, but my lack of focus seems to have nothing to do with how many hours I sleep at night… 😦

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

