July 30th, the penultimate day

Many things have happened in the past several weeks.  The Examiner refused to pay me.  My mom and I got written threats under the windshield of our car in the library parking lot.  My review quota is 130 movie reviews and 249 book reviews/articles so far for the Examiner.  Triond is paying me change.  The heat is insane, like a desert climate shift.  I’ve really gone through a lot of nonsense the past few weeks, and it all irritates me.  I can’t find peace.  If people were constantly harassing and threatening you, how would you find peace inside?  How would your mind be at rest, not worry, not be angry?  I can’t concentrate on my reading, my writing.  I’m at war inside.  And outside.

Natalie Gorna

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

