December 18th

I finally reviewed Jessica Day George’s Princess of the Midnight Ball and its sequel, Princess of Glass, on the Examiner.  Unfortunately (or fortunately), the total review of both books had to be divided into five parts.  The first two parts create my review of Princess of the Midnight Ball, and the last three parts are my review of Princess of Glass.  I can’t help that I write long reviews…I have a lot to say about novels that I like. 🙂 

My “reading list” hasn’t changed, except that I’m beginning to read volume#5 in the Harry Potter series.  This volume is maybe the longest in the series—almost 900 pages!  That ties with Meyer’s Breaking Dawn for length.  By the way, I still have not worked up my resolve to read that novel and finish the Twilight series.  Perhaps I’m just not eager to see literary self-destruction in a work of fiction.  The turns this series has taken…Meyer knows how to twist a love triangle.  That’s why my favorite vampire novels remain Kate Cary’s two Bloodline novels and Bekka Black’s iDrakula.  I am currently reading Stoker’s Dracula, and I can now appreciate fully the clever changes Kate Cary and Bekka Black made in their own versions of this story.  My eyes have been opened wider in regards to the similarities between characters and the plots. 

Aside from that, I’m still reading as many novels as I listed in my last blog entry.  I’ve worked hard this week, as I always do with my writing and tutoring jobs…but this week and next week, I’ll have to work even harder.

Natalie Gorna

3 thoughts on “December 18th

  1. doysl December 19, 2010 / 04:47

    I heard Stephen King wrote his version of Dracula too 🙂

    Like

    • doysl December 19, 2010 / 04:48

      By the way, how do you write Italic style font?

      Like

    • Natalie Gorna December 19, 2010 / 12:14

      Hmmm…well, Stephen King is not my kind of writer…his writing style is…too bizarre. Italic font…for comments, you use code like you did (for italics the code is “em” instead of “i”), but on my blog posts…I have HTML. 🙂

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

