December 8th

Tutoring, writing, reading…I am busy, despite everything.  I am two chapters away from finishing volume#4 in the Harry Potter series.  After this long volume, I may take a break from J.K. Rowling and try reading some other books…like Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce.  I also want to read The Jungle by Upton Sinclair, Dracula by Bram Stoker, and re-read Animal Farm by George Orwell.  However, I still have to read the remaining volumes (#2 and #3) in Tyndall’s Legacy of the King’s Pirates trilogy.  That should be fun.  Tyndall really knows how to use good vocabulary to her advantage, and every page is a cornucopia of rich language and words from the late 17th century.  The setting is similar to that of the short-lived TV series Crusoe, which is a favorite of mine.  It’s modern, but it’s more creative than the novel it’s based on, and Crusoe’s inventions are to die for. 😛  Anyway, the setting in the series is the same as that for the mentioned trilogy…

Well, I’m finished with publishing book reviews for this week on the Examiner, but movie reviews…I’m procrastinating.  Again.  This is obviously not good, but I have an excuse…I was hassled by my infamous migraine this morning, and consequently, I’ve had to rest for the rest of the day.  I’m thinking…concentrating on my reviews….

Natalie Gorna

4 thoughts on “December 8th

  1. doysl December 13, 2010 / 11:19

    Well, if you think there’s no connection between reading and migraines, then ok 🙂 Just I remember The Lost series on TV. In the first season of it, the doctor said Sawyer that he had head aches because of reading much without glasses ,-O^O-,
    But I don’t really know 🙂

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna December 13, 2010 / 17:00

      I didn’t say there was no connection whatsoever…I just believe that the severity of my migraines are not connected to reading. I have been reading books for a long time, and my migraines started a long time afterwards. In fact, they started occurring suddenly, accompanied by extreme nausea and vomiting. But yes, you can get sinus headaches from reading too much…straining your eyes in the process. That’s why moderation is best in everything. 😉

      Like

  2. doysl December 9, 2010 / 21:04

    Hello, Natalie.
    I guess I know why your migraine is following you time to time. It’s because you read so much! 🙂

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna December 10, 2010 / 14:15

      Hello. Actually, I’ve been getting them for years, and I don’t think it’s from reading. My migraines seem to be triggered by something else…maybe stress? Anyway, thanks for commenting and subscribing to my blog. 🙂

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

