3 thoughts on “October 14th

  1. te lui July 28, 2011 / 13:27

    Yep – being Polish myself I know exactly what you mean – to my despair we had to read tons and heaps of Sienkiewicz for our Polish classes 🙂

    American adaptation was rather nicely done, Polish however I couldn’t stand – watched it like 15 minutes and called it quits. Book was ok – by no means a masterpiece but still it reads good and has a few convincing and/or amusing characters – ie. Chilo, Nero and Petronius.
    As to Marcus and Ligia… – I yet have to see more schematic, agenda-driven and one-dimensional book characters 🙂

    On a more funny side, I have recently read this:

    http://www.zeszytyliterackie.pl/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=64&Itemid=88 – reminds me of Tortilla Flat – grab it if you have a chance 🙂

    Pozdrawiam

    Sebastian

    Like

  2. te lui July 17, 2011 / 03:19

    Hmm… 🙂 – why would you like to take on Quo Vadis???

    I understand that Sienkiewicz (pierwszorzędny pisarz drugorzędny) got a Nobel prize for it but other than that it’s a horrible Catholic propaganda piece..

    Here’s a thought – try reviewing Gombrowicz or Lem instead 😉

    Cheers

    Sebastian

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna July 17, 2011 / 12:29

      Well, my whole family is Polish, so a renown Polish author like Henryk Sienkiewicz wouldn’t ever escape my notice, if you know what I mean. I really like the 1951 American film adaptation of Quo Vadis?, and the 2001 Polish movie of Quo Vadis? has its good sides as well. However, with that being said, I have to admit that Marcus Vinicius is one of the most despicable male leads I’ve ever met in a book. He is a terrible protagonist, and his conversion from arrogant, selfish patrician to humble, love-smitten Christian is totally incredible for me as a logical reader. I did review both movie versions of the novel on the Examiner, but I have not read the book itself yet…I don’t really want to read the novel. I only reviewed Sienkiewicz as an author for the Examiner, as well as some other notable Polish writers that I like. Otherwise, Quo Vadis? is very low, chronologically speaking, on my Goodreads to-read list. 😉 Thanks for posting your input here.

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

