Star-gazing

I am currently engrossed in reading two books.  One is the novel New Moon, the sequel to Twilight by Stephenie Meyer.  After all, I was determined to read New Moon long before I read Twilight.  My impressions of the story are favorable so far.  Although Bella’s depression and heartbreak after Edward’s desertion can be sympathized with, it is almost impossible to believe that any real person would pine so dramatically for his/her first love.  Bella’s life is almost finished when Edward leaves.  Wouldn’t the pain and betrayal she experienced by that action kill whatever love she had for Edward?  However, Bella’s friendship with Jacob saves her…that part of the novel is a pleasure to read. 🙂 Finally, the author describes a warm, strong, and realistic friendship with the potential to develop into love…it’s romantic, but unfortunately, it’s one-sided.  Jacob obviously falls in love with Bella, while Bella only admits to a “weak” love for Jacob…she states that she can never feel passionate love for Jacob like the kind she felt for Edward.  It is possible that if Meyer wanted to end the Twilight series with New Moon, she could have by letting Bella “learn” to love Jacob instead of Edward.  Why did Meyer have to painfully continue Bella’s reckless obsession over Edward?  Wouldn’t it have been easier to perpetuate a love based on friendship like Bella’s and Jacob’s?  I don’t think that would be corny in any way.  No matter…the Twilight series is complete, and these grumblings of mine are simply restless thoughts. 😛 Naturally, I like Jacob’s character better than Edward’s.  Bella feels happy and safe with Jacob, but with Edward it’s this dangerous, absorbing desire.  Jacob was the healthier choice for Bella.  So, I feel sorry for his character and I’m on “Team Jacob,” but not to excess. 😉

Now, about the other book I’m reading…it’s called The Crucible by Arthur Miller.  It is a very powerful play.  I can’t say that I’m mesmerized by it (a wrong adjective to describe the play’s hold on me), but I am quite…taken by the truths that Miller conveys through his characters and their actions.  How far people can go in pursuit of their hatred for each other under the pretense of false devotion to religion and superstition!  Hypocrisy, lust, hatred, betrayal, deceit…all these vices are present in The Crucible.  All the play’s themes combine to create a spell-binding story that shocks…it has shocked me into deep thought.  I have read about the harsh Puritans and their obsessions with “witch hunts” in The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth Speare, but never to this extent before.  The Scarlet Letter is another novel I have heard of (but not read) that is similar in content to The Crucible.  I can’t believe that Nathaniel Hawthorne was a Puritan himself and yet he wrote such a novel about his own religion.

Well, to digress, I must re-read other novels so that I can write more reviews for the Examiner, but these two books are at the center of my literary attention.  That and the fact that I am patiently waiting to watch Leap Year…I’m told by the library that a copy of the film is in transit for me. 😉 And then…as I look up at the starry sky at night, I am amazed that what we see there is only a “flashback” of the past.  I had astronomy in my senior year of high school, and my textbook didn’t let me forget that it takes light-years for the images of the stars to reach us here on earth.  Therefore, the images that we see are already old and from the past…past reminders with no knowledge of the present or future.  We humans are clueless to what current events are taking place in the distant universe…the stars’ course have been already been set millenia ago.  They have fixed paths…is that destiny, or perhaps fate?  The stars are indeed a source of wonder…they urge me to consider how free is free will.  This is the quiet meditation on my part before I close my eyes to sleep…

Natalie Gorna

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

