I saw…

…an opossum near the place we sleep at in the car this early morning.  I have never seen a real opossum before, with the exception of the animated opossums in the Disney film Bambi and pictures in nature books.  It was interesting to behold…it was looking at me with curiosity in its white face, quietly sitting and washing its face with its paws, while I was staring back with equal interest.  It left eventually, to my disappointment. 

I was thinking this morning about the romantic idea of living in the mountains or the country, surrounded by nature’s undeniable beauty.  Just a serene thought from someone who was very depressed by reality yesterday…my daydreams and fantasies always cheer me up one way or another.

Natalie Gorna

Isn't the opossum an unusual creature? ~ photo by Cody Pope

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

