My very own caustic poem

I decided to be biting in my poetry once.  Remembering my childhood, I also recalled my overwhelming fondness at that time for Barney & Friends, a kid-oriented public television show most Americans are familiar with (whether with admiration or dislike), and its main character, Barney (a green-spotted purple dinosaur).  The theme song of the show was often repeated by myself as a child to the point of annoyance, and over time I have learned to despise it together with my memories of the show.  But first, here are the song’s original lyrics with all their false “philanthropy”:

The Barney song

I love you, you love me,

We’re a happy family,

With a great, big hug,

And a kiss from me to you,

Won’t you say you love me too?

The music that accompanies this “poem” is no less irritating.  Well, a few years ago I followed in James Thurber’s footsteps, so to speak, by taking these lyrics and forcing my biting, cynical twist on such a hopeful song.  How about an ostentatious display of my hatred for humanity through my version of this ridiculous humanitarian anthem?

PLEASE NOTE: This is directed and dedicated to all my enemies.

Natalie’s version of the Barney song

I hate you, you hate me,

We’re a nasty family,

With a great, big punch,

And a kick from me to you,

Won’t you say you hate me too?

Natalie Gorna

P.S. Today I will publish my 46th article on the Examiner.  I’m getting very close to publishing my 50th article, which will be in itself just cause for celebration.  Another relevant photo on my blog, perhaps, when that day dawns? 😉 

One thought on “My very own caustic poem

  1. missy April 15, 2010 / 16:44

    i like that poem 🙂

    Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

