Big, shocking news from me

Well, I published my 32nd article today on the Examiner, continuing my series about Roald Dahl’s best books for children.  I have a revelation that I must share: I will not be reviewing The Creation of Eve by Lynn Cullen.  Never judge a book by its cover…how true is that saying…and when I opened this novel and began to read it, I was shocked by its sexual content.  This topic in books always makes me uncomfortable as a book examiner/reviewer, and my conscience was struggling between the desire to please Lynn Cullen with my book review and the need to satisfy my honest streak by writing the truth.  I can’t lie in my review and ignore what I found distracting and vulgar, namely the sexual content, and I really wanted to impress Lynn Cullen with my review.  All I am left with is her praise of my review of I Am Rembrandt’s Daughter, her promise that she would link that article to her websites, and a half-read, beautiful copy of the disappointing The Creation of Eve.  It was not only the sexual content that disturbed me, but also the lack of focus on Sofonisba Anguissola’s desire to paint.  Well, anyway, so much for recognition…it is with a heavy heart that I conclude this entry (sorry for the corny line here).  😦

Natalie Gorna

2 thoughts on “Big, shocking news from me

  1. Slava March 22, 2010 / 23:30

    Oh 😦 What a pity. You so wanted to make that review. That’s so worthy of respect that you have some principles which you obey.

    Like

    • Natalie Gorna March 23, 2010 / 09:10

      Yes, it is a pity. But thank you for your respect of my wishes…

      Like

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

