Some simple herbal remedies

I think I have bronchitis.  I can’t be sure yet, but this wet, hacking cough that developed from a sore throat seems to be a copy of the “sickness” patterns that I’ve endured before.  Bronchitis+my asthma=massive suffering.  I don’t trust doctors, and since bronchitis is usually left alone by physicians to go away by itself, I’m trying herbal remedies. 

Garlic is a natural antibiotic.  Despite its pungent flavor and “breath freshener” effects, it is a powerful herb with the power to rid the body of parasites and bacterial infections.  “1 clove of garlic a day keeps the doctor away.”  The Italians were on to something here… 🙂

Thyme, another inexpensive table herb (and also “nasty-tasting”), is helpful for lung conditions like asthma, bronchitis, and emphysema.  An infusion (i.e., stronger brewing technique than for simple tea) is the strongest and one of the most effective ways to ingest this herb, even if I have to add a lot of lemon juice and hold my nose to drink it (believe me…I know).  Of course, any hot tea is beneficial when one is sick.  Thyme is just very, very strong. 

Let us hope that I can ward away my pre-bronchitis before it becomes serious…

Natalie Gorna

The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

