The world is ‘Twitter’pated with technology

We, the technologically savvy, are figuratively following in Bambi’s infatuated footsteps.

This century is inhabited by people who are addicted to their BlackBerrys, their cell phones, their laptops, and the Internet.  I go online at random and I see thousands of links to social networking sites like Facebook and the famous Twitter.  Ah, Twitter.  The very title brings back memories of Disney’s animated film Bambi, where Friend Owl tells an adult Bambi and his friends about the dangers of spring and the sudden condition of being “twitterpated.”  Ironically, Bambi with his friends all fall prey to love no matter how hard they try to avoid it, succumbing easily to love’s delights and forgetting any of their past misgivings.  The same goes for the use of social networking sites, and I’m a primary example.  I once swore that I would never, EVER use Facebook, but I opened my account with them more than two years ago and now I’m “enjoying” the use of cyberspace connections.  Then there’s Twitter, designed mainly for all who love to text on their cell phones.  Not having a cell phone, I am firm in my decision to not adapt to this site either.  But will I succeed?

I can’t understand the need to be constantly “tweeted” updates…Twitter sounds like literary madness.  How do its users stay sane and keep up with all the news they receive from their connections?  I have problems managing my own Facebook page with my “low” number of friends, but Twitter has unceremoniously become the King of News, even commanding newspaper headlines online and in print because some Twitter user scooped a big story by texting to his/her Twitter page.  Celebrities are now ostentatiously accustoming themselves to the “joys” of Twitter and using it more than Facebook by frequently giving detailed information to fans about their personal daily routines.  This site is only getting more and more popular, but it sounds like a frightening online Juggernaut to me, because I know that I could never adjust to all those “tweets” from my friends and idols without going insane, cell phone user or not.  And even I did have one in the near future, why would I use Twitter?  This century promised that everyone would be in complete control of their lives, living them to the fullest without hassle.  But the reality is that people are living their lives through electronic devices and technology itself…they have become computers and living machines.  The best wake-up call I can think of (however rude) is: “21st century people, get your LIFE and LIVE it!”

And now, if you’d excuse me…I’ve got to go and post an update on my Twitter page.

Natalie Gorna

11 Comments

  1. February 14, 2014 at 21:01

    […] Originally posted on Blog of Natalie Gorna […]

  2. February 14, 2014 at 19:31

    “But the reality is that people are living their lives through electronic devices and technology itself…they have become computers and living machines.”

    Maybe inevitable?

    • February 14, 2014 at 20:50

      Perhaps, but as H.G. Wells so wisely noted in “The Time Machine,” this reality will only lead to the self-destruction of everything we’ve built, and the earth will recycle what’s left and the caveman era will begin anew. When there is no moderation, there is no restraint, and without that, chaos will only follow. Then, the end of life as we know it.

      • February 14, 2014 at 21:47

        Well, that was H. G. Wells’ vision, not necessarily the gospel truth! Sometimes I think we’ll just continue to coalesce with technology. I wrote a rough sci-fi story that included bio-cyber beings in the outer reaches of space. Some were good, others were bad. They had the ability to influence other living beings, backwards thru spacetime… Just a thought, but who knows. I don’t see technology as necessarily catastrophic. It just is. It might even save us. :)

        • February 14, 2014 at 21:54

          His views were perhaps a bit extreme, but I see the behavior of today’s youth and my own generation, and then I see why he foresaw humanity collapsing due to its own stupidity and excessive living. A growing addiction to technology is just the tip of the iceberg, but the repercussions are becoming more and more evident.

          • February 15, 2014 at 09:19

            But Natalie, when I was young they said the same thing about TV. It was the “great evil” back then. Then it was “the internet.” Very bad if you liked that too much. Now they’ve switched to “mobile devices.” See a pattern here? Fear of change? ;-)

          • February 15, 2014 at 11:35

            I think it’s not a fear of change that is the problem or what devices we’re talking about: it’s this excessive reliance people have on technology and how it will be their undoing someday. Before in the past, people need how to survive and take care of themselves, while modern day folk go crazy after a few hours of not being able to access the Internet or use their phones. My point was that our desire to be independent is contradicted by this growing dependency on all forms of technology, and this dependency is crippling humanity in more ways than one. I see it daily as a tutor, my students too invested in technology to take the time to invest in their education. Before, technology was the means to make life easier, but now it is deafening and making the world an even harder place to live in.

          • February 15, 2014 at 18:46

            In a way I agree with you. During the recent Toronto Ice Storm our dependency on the power grid was painfully obvious (massive power outage for several very cold days). If it continued much longer more people would have died and many probably would have begun to act like savages.

            But, at the same time, I don’t think it was much easier in the past. The Black Death wiped out Biblical amounts of people in the Middles Ages simply because they didn’t have the technological means nor knowledge re how to eradicate it.

            As for education, I think we have to ask what we mean by this. Some folks today are talking about a shift towards “digi-performance,” or something like that. I can’t remember the exact term.

            I myself don’t have a smart phone. Only an ancient cell for emergencies. This is essential for what I do. And I really have no desire for a smart phone. In short, I think adults can control the thing. Maybe it’s different though, with younger, presumably more impressionable people… I’m not sure!

            (note – this is a reply to your last note… but I didin’t see a reply button there… so if it’s out of order, pls take it in continuity).

          • February 17, 2014 at 07:21

            Hi again, and sorry it took me so long to get back to you in way of reply.

            It wasn’t easier in the past, but it isn’t easier now either. New centuries bring new unconquerable diseases, like the AIDS and cancer epidemics. The Black Death mainly spread the way it did because of poor sanitation within cities and the fact that the rich fled, leaving the poor in quarantine. No one took the proper measures to contain the plague in each country it appeared in, and for the most part, people were abandoned to deal with it without any medicine at all. Talk about history repeating itself now…

            Education… Well, I speak from experience: the Internet has provided everyone who can access it a great wealth of knowledge, and by all means, people should use it for learning. However, the irony is that now that information is widespread, most college-level and high school-level students have the math skills of a kindergartner and the writing skills of a first grader. It’s sad and frustrating, because at that age studying habits have been ingrained and it’s difficult to teach “an old dog new tricks,” so to speak. You’re right – people are reluctant to change, and frightened of it as well. But maybe this has mainly to do with the prevalent vice of laziness ever present in today’s society.

            I also don’t have a smartphone, but the pressure to have one is very strong when your peers are all fiddling on those devices, expressing the “joys” of being always connected to cyberspace. It’s what I like to call “sensory temptation and manipulation.”

            Ultimately, the modern world’s desire to be independent is overshadowed by its great dependence on technology, more than ever before, and this stance is not good. It does not bode well.

          • February 21, 2014 at 08:40

            A beautiful and elegant reply! Witty too. I guess that’s partly why I like to re-blog excerpts of your work!

            Having said that, I still believe that technology is not going away, so I think part of education should be about learning how to embrace that change. I also believe that the solution to many pressing issues will come thru science and technology. Sci-tech tempered by right ethics, that is. :)

  3. July 26, 2013 at 18:07

    Users have already clued into that fact, or screwed up themselves, and are beginning to establish new social conventions. Articles outlining the “proper use and etiquette of social networking” pop up around the Internet on a near-daily basis, and self-proclaimed experts regularly police sites like Twitter to call out users they believe are acting inappropriately. Social networking sites thrust people together in mind-boggling combinations of attributes — conservative/liberal, geeks/non-geeks, parents/child-free, religious/atheist/agnostic.


The Commentary Box - Let's have it.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

